Center Wrapper
Image Slider

Development Policy Advisory Committee (DPAC)

About the Development Policy Advisory Committee (DPAC)

DPAC is a statutory body established under South Australia’s Development Act 1993 (the Act). It provides independent advice to the Minister for Planning on any matter relating to:

  • planning and development
  • design and construction of buildings
  • administration of the Act
  • policies that govern the administration of the Act
  • proposals to make regulations under the Act or to make amendments to the Act
  • proposals to amend Development Plans
  • other assigned functions.

DPAC should, in the performance of its functions, take into account the provisions of the Planning Strategy.


The Development Policy Advisory Committee (DPAC) consists of ten members appointed by the Governor:

  • Bryan Moulds (Presiding Member)
  • Sue Filby
  • Steve Hooper
  • Sarah Howden
  • Michael Klobas
  • Felicity-ann Lewis
  • Sharon Starick
  • John Stimson
  • Rebecca Thomas
  • Carol Vincent.

Members collectively have wide experience in:

  • urban and regional planning, or a related discipline
  • local government
  • building design or construction
  • environmental conservation
  • commerce and industry
  • agricultural development
  • housing or urban development
  • planning or providing community services
  • the utilities and services that form the infrastructure of urban development.

DPAC members were appointed by the Governor for a two year term from 23 July 2015 until 30 June 2017. The appointments were gazetted on 23 July 2015.

Public consultation on development plan amendments

DPAC conducts the public consultation process for Development Plan Amendments (DPAs) proposed by the Minister.

Kilburn and Blair Athol Urban Renewal amendment

The Kilburn and Blair Athol Urban Renewal amendment is undergoing public consultation from the 1 December 2016 to the 1 February 2017.  Submissions (marked as Kilburn and Blair Athol Urban Renewal amendment) are due by 5pm Wednesday 1 February 2017 and should be addressed to:

  • The Presiding Member,
    DPAC, c/- Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure

    post to: GPO Box 1815, Adelaide SA 5001, or

    email to:

DPAC has scheduled a Public Meeting for anyone to be heard by the Committee or to verbally raise any matter not previously raised in their written submission associated with the Kilburn and Blair Athol Urban Renewal amendment

The Public Meeting details are as follows:

  • Tuesday 14 February 2017, commencing at 7pm
    at the Sunnybrae Estate, Coach House Room,
    1 Naweena Road, Regency Park.

Please note that the Public Meeting may not be held if no one requests to be heard.

The status of other Ministerial Development Plan Amendments can be viewed here

Reports to the Minister

Reports are prepared by DPAC to provide advice to the Minister for Planning regarding Minister-initiated DPAs.

Sub-Committees of DPAC

The DPAC may establish committees or subcommittees as required under the Development Regulations 2008 or such other committees or subcommittees as DPAC thinks fit.

In either case, any committee or subcommittee is established to report to DPAC on any aspect of its function, or to assist the statutory body in the performance of its functions.

All subcommittees of DPAC provide their advice to DPAC for their consideration. The advice is then considered by DPAC and if necessary, provided to the Minister for his/her consideration.

The subcommittees of DPAC include the:

DPAC Meeting Schedule

DPAC Meetings are held the third Wednesday of each month.

The 2016 meeting schedule is as follows:

  • 20 January
  • 17 February
  • 16 March
  • 20 April
  • 18 May
  • 15 June
  • 20 July
  • 17 August
  • 21 September
  • 19 October
  • 16 November
  • 14 December

DPAC contact details

DPAC Committee Coordinator
Telephone: (08) 71097009
Fax: (08) 8303 0627