Center Wrapper

On 1 August 2017, The State Planning Commission assumed the functions, powers and duties of the Development Policy Advisory Committee (DPAC), Local Heritage Advisory  Committee (LHAC) and Building Advisory Committee (BAC). The State Planning Commission has established the Building Committee to continue the functions formerly undertaken by the BAC and the BRAC and  the Hearing Panel to continue the functions formerly undertaken by the DPAC which comprises members of the State Planning Commission.

Development Policy Advisory Committee (DPAC)

About the Development Policy Advisory Committee (DPAC)

DPAC is a statutory body established under South Australia’s Development Act 1993 (the Act). It provides independent advice to the Minister for Planning on any matter relating to:

  • planning and development
  • design and construction of buildings
  • administration of the Act
  • policies that govern the administration of the Act
  • proposals to make regulations under the Act or to make amendments to the Act
  • proposals to amend Development Plans
  • other assigned functions.

DPAC should, in the performance of its functions, take into account the provisions of the Planning Strategy.


The Development Policy Advisory Committee (DPAC) consists of ten members appointed by the Governor:

  • Bryan Moulds (Presiding Member)
  • Sue Filby
  • Steve Hooper
  • Sarah Howden
  • Michael Klobas
  • Felicity-ann Lewis
  • Sharon Starick
  • John Stimson
  • Rebecca Thomas
  • Carol Vincent.

Members collectively have wide experience in:

  • urban and regional planning, or a related discipline
  • local government
  • building design or construction
  • environmental conservation
  • commerce and industry
  • agricultural development
  • housing or urban development
  • planning or providing community services
  • the utilities and services that form the infrastructure of urban development.

DPAC members were appointed by the Governor for a two year term from 23 July 2015 until 30 June 2017. The appointments were gazetted on 23 July 2015.

Public consultation on development plan amendments

DPAC conducts the public consultation process for Development Plan Amendments (DPAs) proposed by the Minister.

The status of Ministerial Development Plan Amendments can be viewed here Minister amendments to development plans.

Reports to the Minister

Reports are prepared by DPAC to provide advice to the Minister for Planning regarding Minister-initiated DPAs.

Sub-Committees of DPAC

The DPAC may establish committees or subcommittees as required under the Development Regulations 2008 or such other committees or subcommittees as DPAC thinks fit.

In either case, any committee or subcommittee is established to report to DPAC on any aspect of its function, or to assist the statutory body in the performance of its functions.

All subcommittees of DPAC provide their advice to DPAC for their consideration. The advice is then considered by DPAC and if necessary, provided to the Minister for his/her consideration.

The subcommittees of DPAC include the:

DPAC Meeting Schedule

DPAC Meetings are held the third Wednesday of each month.

The 2017 meeting schedule is as follows:

  • 18 January
  • 15 February
  • 15 March
  • 19 April
  • 17 May
  • 21 June
  • 19 July
  • 16 August
  • 20 September
  • 18 October
  • 15 November
  • 13 December

DPAC contact details

DPAC Committee Coordinator
Telephone: (08) 7109 7007